Skip to content

Independent comparison site. Tora Mari is not a lender.

ToraMari

Independent lender review

Upgrade review 2026: rates, fees and who it may suit

By Tora Mari Editorial Team · Terms checked October 2026

Wide range of amounts and terms, with an option to pay your creditors directly.

Debt consolidation: 2.3 out of 5, ranked 3 of 6. Personal loan, fair credit: 1.8 out of 5, ranked 3 of 6. Home improvement: 2.5 out of 5, ranked 3 of 6.

Go to Upgrade

Independent review. This link is not an affiliate link.

Upgrade at a glance

APR
7.74% to 35.99%
Loan amounts
$1,000 to $50,000
Terms
24 to 84 months
Origination fee
Up to 9.99%
Funding
As soon as 1 business day

What we like

  • You can check your rate with a soft credit check
  • No prepayment penalty
  • Can pay your creditors or contractor directly
  • Says funds can arrive in 1 business day

Worth knowing

  • Origination fee of up to 9.99%, usually taken out of the loan
  • Rates can reach 35.99% APR
  • Origination fee is 1.85% to 9.99%, taken from the loan. Paying creditors directly can take up to 2 weeks.

Who Upgrade may suit

Based on what its page states, it may suit people who want the loan paid straight to their creditors; larger projects or balances; people who need funds quickly; people who want a longer term to keep payments lower (which raises total interest). It may not suit you if your offer comes back with a high rate or fee, so compare before you decide.

Our score by loan type

Scores come from the terms the lender publishes, using one public formula. Payouts never change a score. A fact a page does not state earns no points, which does not mean the lender lacks it. See how we rate lenders.

Upgrade FAQs

Does Upgrade charge an origination fee?

Upgrade's page states a fee of up to 9.99%, usually taken out of the loan before you receive it.

Can I check my Upgrade rate without hurting my credit?

Upgrade's page says checking your rate does not affect your credit score. A hard inquiry usually applies if you accept an offer and complete the application.

How fast does Upgrade fund a loan?

Upgrade's page says funds can arrive as soon as 1 business day, depending on approval and verification. Your bank may add time.

Does Upgrade have a prepayment penalty?

Upgrade's page says there is no prepayment penalty.

What credit score do I need for Upgrade?

Upgrade did not state a minimum credit score on the page we checked. Check your rate with a soft check to see where you stand.

How we reviewed Upgrade

We read the lender's own public pages (upgrade.com/personal-loans) on October 2026 and recorded only what they state. Rates, approval and terms are set by the lender and vary by applicant. We re-check lenders at least every 90 days.

Advertising disclosure: Tora Mari is paid by some partners when visitors click through or apply, and some lenders we rate are partners. Scores and order come from our published method and are not changed by what a lender pays us. It does not change what you pay. Read the full disclosure.

Borrowing costs money. Late payments may harm your credit score. Only borrow what you can afford to repay.

This content is for general education only and is not financial, legal or tax advice.