Independent lender review
SoFi review 2026: rates, fees and who it may suit
By Tora Mari Editorial Team · Terms checked October 2026
Fixed-rate loans with rates shown for terms with no origination fee, and same-day funding for many borrowers.
Debt consolidation: 2.1 out of 5, ranked 4 of 6. Home improvement: 2.2 out of 5, ranked 4 of 6.
Independent review. This link is not an affiliate link.
SoFi at a glance
- APR
- 6.99% to 35.49%
- Terms
- 24 to 84 months
- Origination fee
- None
- Funding
- As soon as 1 business day
What we like
- You can check your rate with a soft credit check
- No origination fee
- Can pay your creditors or contractor directly
- Says funds can arrive in 1 business day
Worth knowing
- Rates can reach 35.49% APR
- Rates shown include 0.25% autopay and 0.25% member discounts. After a decline you must wait 30 days to reapply.
Who SoFi may suit
Based on what its page states, it may suit borrowers who want to avoid an origination fee; people who want the loan paid straight to their creditors; people who need funds quickly; people who want a longer term to keep payments lower (which raises total interest). It may not suit you if your offer comes back with a high rate or fee, so compare before you decide.
Our score by loan type
- Debt consolidation: 2.1 out of 5, ranked 4 of 6 for debt consolidation loans.
- Home improvement: 2.2 out of 5, ranked 4 of 6 for home improvement loans.
Scores come from the terms the lender publishes, using one public formula. Payouts never change a score. A fact a page does not state earns no points, which does not mean the lender lacks it. See how we rate lenders.
SoFi FAQs
Does SoFi charge an origination fee?
SoFi's page says there is no origination fee. Always confirm in your own loan offer.
Can I check my SoFi rate without hurting my credit?
SoFi's page says checking your rate does not affect your credit score. A hard inquiry usually applies if you accept an offer and complete the application.
How fast does SoFi fund a loan?
SoFi's page says funds can arrive as soon as 1 business day, depending on approval and verification. Your bank may add time.
Does SoFi have a prepayment penalty?
We could not find this stated on the page we checked (October 2026). Check the lender's site.
What credit score do I need for SoFi?
SoFi did not state a minimum credit score on the page we checked. Check your rate with a soft check to see where you stand.
How we reviewed SoFi
We read the lender's own public pages (sofi.com/personal-loans/personal-loan-rates) on October 2026 and recorded only what they state. Rates, approval and terms are set by the lender and vary by applicant. We re-check lenders at least every 90 days.
Advertising disclosure: Tora Mari is paid by some partners when visitors click through or apply, and some lenders we rate are partners. Scores and order come from our published method and are not changed by what a lender pays us. It does not change what you pay. Read the full disclosure.
Borrowing costs money. Late payments may harm your credit score. Only borrow what you can afford to repay.
This content is for general education only and is not financial, legal or tax advice.